Web DeskPublished: 27 May 2023 at 00:08 | Updated: 27 May 2023 at 02:06

PTI Faces Mass Exodus of Leaders Following Imran Khan's Arrest and Violent Protests

PTI Faces Mass Exodus of Leaders Following Imran Khan's Arrest and Violent Protests
The arrest of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan in the Al-Qadir Trust case on May 9, accompanied by widespread violent protests that saw state installations stormed and torched across the country, has triggered a significant exodus of leaders from the former ruling party.
The three-day-long protests resulted in at least 8 fatalities and numerous injuries, prompting the incumbent coalition government to suspend internet services and deploy army troops to restore law and order. In response to the unprecedented attacks on defense and public properties, a crackdown was initiated to apprehend those responsible for the vandalism, with the country's top civil-military leadership vowing to prosecute the rioters under relevant laws, including the Army Act.
Since then, several PTI leaders, including close aides of Imran Khan, have announced their departure from the party, citing the May 9 incidents as the reason. Some have even blamed Khan's policies for the attacks on military installations.
Here is a breakdown of the PTI leaders who have parted ways with the deposed prime minister, province-wise:
In Punjab:
  • Shireen Mazari, Senior Vice President
  • Asad Umar, Secretary General
  • Fayazul Hassan Chohan, Former Provincial Minister
  • Abdul Razaq Khan Niazi, Ex-MPA
  • Makhdoom Iftikharul Hassan Gillani, Ex-MPA
  • Mian Jaleel Ahmed Sharaqpuri, Ex-MPA
  • Khawaja Qutab Fareed Koreja, Ex-MNA
  • Aamer Mahmood Kiani, Founding Member
  • Chaudhry Wajahat Hussain
  • Malik Amin Aslam, Former Federal Minister
  • Faizullah Kamoka, PTI West Punjab President
  • Dr. Muhammad Amjad, Former PTI Central Deputy secretary General for Islamabad
  • Malik Asif Awan, Additional Secretary General South Punjab
  • Jalil Sharqpuri, Ex-MPA
  • Syed Saeedul Hassan, Ex-MPA
  • Saleem Akhtar Labar, Ex-MPA
  • Chaudhry Hussain Elahi, MNA
  • Chaudhry Ehsanul Haq, Ticket Holder (PP-247)
  • Dr. Mohammad Afzal, Ticket Holder (PP-248)
  • Chaudhary Jehanzeb Rasheed, Ticket Holder (PP-257)
  • Zaheeruddin Khan Alizai, Ex-MPA
  • Aun Dogar, Ex-MPA
  • Abdul Hai Dasti, Ex-MPA
  • Malik Mujtaba Niaz Gishkori, Ex-MPA
  • Alamdar Husain Qureshi, Ex-MPA
  • Sajjad Hussain Cheena, Ex-MPA
  • Sardar Qaisar Abbas Khan Magsi, Ex-MPA
  • Ashraf Rind, Ex-MPA
  • Javed Ansari, Ex-MPA
  • Maleeka Ali Bokhari, Ex-MNA
  • Javed Akhtar Ansari, Ex-MPA
  • Ahsan Saleem Baryar, Ex-MPA
  • Muhammad Saleem Baryar
  • Ansir Iqbal Baryar, Ex-MPA
  • Khalid Aziz Lone, President PTI Gujranwala
  • Mian Mumtaz Ahmad Maharwi, Ex-MPA
  • Asif Manzoor
  • Jamshed Iqbal Cheema
  • Musarrat Jamshed Cheema, Ex-MPA
  • Keywords: exmpa,pti,khan,former,leaders,minister,punjab,president,secretary,general